“Wherever is your heart I call home”

Remi wrote this amazing lovely love note for/to me today, and it brought me to (good) tears. I’ve spent most of the day fumbling how to respond. I’ll try now.

I am a man of words and emotions and privacy. Remi emboldens the first two in me, reduces me in the last. But I can’t stay private with her post. As much as I mean to her she means to me. Our connection defies convention. We make each other better every day.

This song may help explain.

Remi also mentions Amy LaVere’s “Lucky Boy”. Such a wonderful song. You can listen to it here.

And that amazing Avett Brothers performance is here.

Music is language, sometimes covert. Yes, I’m the lucky boy.

7 thoughts on ““Wherever is your heart I call home”

  1. See what I mean? He’s my music man. They say a picture is worth a thousand words. If that is so, a music video must be worth two thousand. I love this video and the other two songs and I’m so glad that he’s becoming your music man by sharing them with you, too.

    Today I was trying to figure out how two people who are 50 percent opposites and 50 percent dead-on the same ever resolve that paradox. We share a love of words, music, indie movies, liberal politics, spirituality outside of organized religion (if at all, in his case,) a love of the unusual, a love of dogs and an absolute fascination with the cyber world and what it has to offer. We share a similar sense of humor and the wish, I think, for a kind world where people take care of each other. How we differ is that although I value my privacy and time to create, I am also a social person. I love parties, live music/dancing, traveling, museums, cinemas, plays, galleries, table games, markets, adventure, spontaneity and the ocean—all things he seeks to avoid. (Although he loves music and film, he prefers to watch and listen to them absolutely alone and would not enter a movie theater or music venue for any reason.)

    So how are these dichotomies to be dealt with? One way is to live 1500 miles apart but to talk every day throughout the day. Another is to never try to change the way that the other is different. I think this is absolutely true about the two of us. If we have tried to change in any way to be together it is our own choice, and if it doesn’t work–that is acceptable also. One summer we traveled 8,000 miles together. This idea came from a man who has spent most of the last fifteen years in a room in front of his computer! That was an incredible experiment on his part, and he did it in his own way. When we got to Mount Rushmore and the Crazy Horse Memorial in S.D. and the BB. King Museum in Mississippi, he waited for me in the car while I investigated. His choice. As hard as it was for me to believe someone would choose not to see these wonders of the world (especially Mt. Rushmore), I accepted his choice. And, when I took hours to tour the B.B. King Museum, he didn’t object.

    His first trip down to Mexico, by himself, by air, was another big step. A bus ride alone from La Manzanilla back to the airport in Guadalajara to catch a plane back to the States was a bigger one. After his fourth trip here, he declared he was never coming back to Mexico. That was two years ago, and although we haven’t seen each other since, we continue to enjoy what we most enjoy about each other—words and music. Luckily, both are things that can be shared from any distance.

    A year or so ago, we redefined our relationship by freeing each other to find the rest of what we need that we have not found in each other–perhaps in another person or perhaps just in the way we choose to spend the rest of our lives. No telling where that will lead either of us, but wherever it is, I hope that he will always be my friend. We have each shown the other something we might not otherwise have experienced. I bring him out into the world. He brings me out into the internet and all of its possibilities. I am his living novella. He is my anchor in this world–the one always there, the last one I talk to at night. I call him my music man and it is true, but he is so much else beside. (Some of those other things you can read about in my original blog posting entitled “The Music Man.” I haven’t repeated that information here.)

    Liked by 4 people

Leave a Reply

