love to breathe

So, here’s what finally prompted me to create this journal. I notice that lots of women profess that they “love to laugh” right up there at the top of their OkCupid profiles. (Men may do this as well, but I don’t see enough of their profiles to report.) It’s innocuous enough, I suppose, but it really makes me wonder about the people they surround themselves with on a daily basis. If you indicate this love to laugh in your profile, perhaps you can explain it to me, because I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone who doesn’t like to laugh. Are you really surrounded by such laugh haters in your life that you feel the need to note that you’re the exception? Do you find that a great many of your friends, family, and co-workers are dour sourpusses, snarling at the likes of the fish slapping dance? People who dully report with droopy lips, “That’s not funny!” in response to all the things that happen in your daily life that make you lol? Should I add to my profile, “love to breathe”?

2 thoughts on “love to breathe

  1. What I think these folks who say they love to laugh are really saying that they are hoping to find someone (a partner) with a good sense of humor. Or maybe they want someone who has the same sense of humor as theirs. Now that could present a problem if I found someone with a fantastic sense of humor, made me laugh ’till I choked, but had rotten teeth., Are you laughing or breathing. I am not sure I can do both at the same time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

